Learning all about Orcas

Beautiful Creatures
Beautiful Creatures

Did you know that the Killer Whale or Orca is the largest species of dolphin? They have 4 inch teeth unlike any other dolphin species, which you may have seen while reading a book or in a magazine. There a three groups of pods or herds that the orcas may live in and they eat differently as well. One is called transient and another being called resident, as well as the off shore group.

What does it look like? The Killer Whale is identified by its black and white markings along with flippers on each side of the Orca, as well as a prominent dorsal fin. These majestic yet dangerous creatures are nicknamed, the cows of the sea. According to National Geographic (2012), these mammals can reach 22-32 feet long and weigh up to six tons. These mammals can live up to 40 to 60 years, but only when they are not killed due to whales and dolphin hunting.

What does it eat? These majestic mammals are predators, who hunt for marine mammals like seals or sea lions. According to National Geographic (2102), two Orcas will hit the iceberg causing it to rock back and forth. Unfortunately, this rocking motion causes it prey like a seal or sea lion to lose its footing. Then, the prey slides into the Orca’s mouth or into the water, where both whales will play with it and they slap it between each other enormous tails. The resident killer whale will main eat fish like salmon, but the transient whales will eat other animals like sharks or sea lions.

(Read More)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.